Archive for the ‘Rye Little League’ Category

Rye Takes Harrison to Title Game’s Final Swing Before Bowing, 9-7

August 4, 2011

Despite issuing eight bases on balls and flinging nine wild pitches, Rye’s select team of 11-year-olds still had a chance to take the District 20 Little League crown from a nervous Harrison side under the lights July 19 at Gedney Field in White Plains.

Billy Chabot slams a fourth-inning homer.

Undefeated Harrison had plenty to be anxious about in the bottom of the sixth. Though they’d beaten this same Rye roster 7-3 just four days earlier, the Huskies were in obvious awe of their rivals’ bats.


Rye 11s Take Tournament Opener; Advance to Semis

July 19, 2011

Rye’s select team of 11-year-olds opened the District 20 Little League playoffs July 8 by thumping a strong Eastchester team 9-5 at Disbrow Field.

Rye started slowly, with four batters going down swinging in the first two innings. But the floodgates opened in the third, when Rye’s No. 8 and 9 hitters, Owen Hull and Max Kenny, stroked a pair of singles through the middle. Everyone was safe when Eastchester’s third sacker muffed Matt Bruno’s grounder, and Dusty Mion’s hard single to center plated all three runners, aided by some sloppy Eastchester defense. Billy Chabot’s groundout to short scored Rye’s fourth run of the frame.

Front row: Andy Bach, Jared Olbrys, Forbes Crowley, Billy Chabot, Gavin Kenny, and Sean Hale; middle row: Dusty Mion, Max Kenney, TJ Lavelle, Owen Hull, Brett Egan, and Matt Bruno; back row: Coaches Brian Bach and Michael Kenny, and Manager Greg Hale.

Unfortunately, pitcher Max Kenny’s own defense was porous early on, and Eastchester was ahead 5-4 when Chabot settled things with a towering homer to right-center in the fifth. Mion’s second hit of the day, a double, drove in Bruno for Rye’s ninth run in the sixth inning, after which Mion took the mound and closed out the game.

The following Monday, Rye was back at Disbrow to take on fellow first-round winners Elmsford, trouncing them, 8-2. The victory sets up a battle of the unbeatens July 15 at Eastchester’s O’Rourke Field against Harrison, which defeated White Plains, 8-4. The winner advances to the championship round, where they’ll need one victory in two games (if necessary) to win the District 20 title.

Little League Team Advances All the Way to Final Four

July 19, 2011

Rye’s All-Star 9- and 10-year-old baseball team did it the hard way. After being walloped 11-1 by Harrison in their first game of the District 20 playoffs, manager Matt Anderson’s charges came roaring back to beat both Thornwood’s Sherman Park and Kensico in dramatic one-run contests, each a last-inning, walk-off affair.

Front row, left to right: Henry Cetina, Aidan Anderson, Finn Westerink, Henry Friedrich, and Troy Egan; middle row: Jason Ciardiello, Jamie Abt, Grant Meyerson, Will Tonkel, Rick Burke, and Andrew Barbara; back row: Gary Ciardiello, Matt Anderson,and Steve Barbara. Not pictured: Yoshihide Sato.

The team, ironically designated as the visitors at Disbrow Field by the tournament schedule, took on Ardsley July 1. Lacking the services of starter Yoshihide Sato, they still came out swinging. After falling behind by a run in the first, Will Tonkel doubled to the fence in right-center, took third on a wild pitch, and scored on a towering fly to left by Grant Meyerson.


One Good Sport

July 19, 2011

Greg Hale, Rye Little League Board Member, Bart, Micheline, and Micheline DiNardo, and Mike Hull, Rye Little League Board Member

Prior to the first pitch of Rye’s Major League Championship game last month, Micheline DiNardo was honored with the 4th annual Ryan Adamson Sportsmanship Award. The trophy is named for the Rye Little League and Babe Ruth player who passed away four years ago at the age of 15.

“I was honored to be presented with such a meaningful award and it was a really special way to end my Little League career,” said Micheline, who plays for the Rays under coach Paul Turcotte.

Rye Clips Harrison in Sound Shore Championship

June 28, 2011

Front row: Niko Herrera, Ben Meyers, Ryan Hale, Connor Murphy, Andrew Dempsey; back row: Head coach Brian Dempsey, Jeff Dempsey, Peter Crowley, Greg Hale, Matt DeGraw, Jack McCartney, Kirk Holmes, and coach Terry McCartney; missing: Jake Meyerson, Andrew Hudson, and coach Eric DeGraw

The Rye Clippers won the Sound Shore Baseball League for the second year in a row earlier this month, topping Harrison 7-4 in the title game at Silver Lake. Rye’s victory was earned by the solid fielding of Kirk Holmes and Ryan Hale, the strong pitching of Jeff Dempsey and Jack McCartney, and key hits by Matt DeGraw, Ben Meyers, and Andrew Dempsey. The team is comprised of the Rye High School juniors and sophomores (as well as one Rye Country Day student) who will form the base of the varsity team in 2012.

Never Too Early to Dust off Those Bats and Gloves

February 10, 2011

Jake Meyerson lends his expertise.

Even though there is snow on the ground, and heaps of it no less, members of both Rye Girls Softball and Rye Little League recently participated in clinics with Rye High School’s varsity softball and baseball players to prepare for the upcoming season. The clinics, organized by the Brian and Lisa Dempsey, took place January 8, 15, and 29.

Rye Girls’ Softball Registration is Open

February 4, 2011

Spring softball registration has begun for both the Junior (3rd-5th grade) and Senior Divisions (6th-8th grade). You can register online until February 11 by going to and clicking the link for “Spring Registration”.

The season begins with the Opening Day parade and ceremony in concert with Rye Little League April 9. Closing Day breakfast and final games are June 12. Games are scheduled on weekends only. Cost is $100 per player, $75 for each additional sibling. If you have any questions email RGS at

Registration for Rye Little League Has Begun

December 8, 2010

Rye Little League registration for the Spring 2011 season is currently open. Boys and girls born between May 1, 1998 and April 30, 2003, residing in the City of Rye, are welcome to join.  Eligible participants who register before January 24, 2011, are guaranteed a spot on a team. After registration closes a waiting list will be created and openings may not occur. Register online at