My Fish Was One Inch Shorter Than Me!

The following was submitted by Davis Knight

I’m 8 years old and have lived in Rye my whole life. My parents tell me I have no idea how great it is to grow up in Rye, but I love it because I can go fishing.

I like fishing because I get to be outside. My dad taught me how to bait my own hook, then cast and reel in the fish. I also like to fish because it is good exercise, especially when you have to reel in blue fish and small mouth bass. You feel as if you might fall overboard!

The author with his 35-pound striped bass.

The smallest fish I’ve caught are minnows in tide pools. Mom tells me when low tide is. I have a new net which is really great and I also use it to catch frogs.

The biggest fish I’ve caught was a 35-pound striped bass a few weeks ago! I am only one inch bigger than the striped bass! I was on a small fishing boat with my dad right there in Long Island Sound.

When I was 4 years old I caught a pike that was bigger than me. That was in Canada on vacation with my dad and Grampy. We’re going there again this year and I can’t wait.

Fishing sure is fun!

One Response to “My Fish Was One Inch Shorter Than Me!”

  1. Emmaline Sevilla Says:

    Not much better than a fishing joke. My friend just shared this joke with me: How much fishing tackle can a man accumulate before his wife throws him out? I don’t know the answer but I think I’m nearly there.

Leave a Reply

